SOUTH AFRICAN REVENUE SERVICE

No R.997 2 October 2001

RECOGNITION OF STOCK EXCHANGES IN TERMS OF THE DEFINITION OF "RECOGNISED EXCHANGE" IN PARAGRAPH 1 OF THE EIGHTH SCHEDULE TO THE INCOME TAX ACT, 1962

By virtue of the powers vested in me by paragraph (c) of the definition of "recognised exchange" in paragraph 1 of the Eighth Schedule to the Income Tax Act, 1962 (Act No. 58 of 1962), I, Trevor Andrew Manuel, Minister of Finance, hereby recognise the stock exchanges listed in the Schedule hereto, as "recognised exchanges" for purposes of the Eighth Schedule to the Income Tax Act, 1962.

T A MANUEL MINISTER OF FINANCE

SCHEDULE

Abu Dhabi Stock Exchange Amman Stock Exchange Athens Stock Exchange Bahrain Stock Exchange Beirut Stock Exchange Bermuda Stock Exchange Ltd Botswana Stock Exchange Bolsa de Comercio de Buenos Aires Bolsa de Comercio de Santiago Bolsa de Valores de Lima Bolsa de Valores do Rio de Janeiro Bolsa de Valores do Sao Paulo Bolsa Mexicana de Valores **Bucharest Stock Exchange Budapest Stock Exchange** Cairo and Alexandra Stock Exchange Colombo Stock Exchange Copenhagen Stock Exchange **Dubai Stock Exchange** Ghana Stock Exchange Helsinki Exchanges Group Ltd Oy Irish Stock Exchange

Istanbul Stock Exchange

Jakarta Stock Exchange

Korea Stock Exchange

Kuala Lumpur Stock Exchange

Kuwait Stock Exchange

Ljubljana Stock Exchange, Inc.

Lusaka Stock Exchange

Malta Stock Exchange

Mauritius Stock Exchange

Muscat Securities Market

Namibian Stock Exchange

Palestine Securities Exchange

Philippine Stock Exchange Inc.

Prague Stock Exchange

Singapore Exchange

Société de la Bourse de Luxembourg SA

Stock Exchange of Thailand

Swaziland Stock Exchange

Taiwan Stock Exchange

Tel-Aviv Stock Exchange Ltd

Tehran Stock Exchange

Warsaw Stock Exchange

Zimbabwe Stock Exchange

Any stock exchange in the following countries which is a stock exchange within the meaning of the national law of that country relating to stock exchanges—

Australia

Austria

Belgium

Canada

China

France

Germany

India

Italy

Ireland

Japan

Netherlands

New Zealand

Norway

Pakistan

Portugal

Russian Federation

Spain

Sweden

Switzerland

United Kingdom

United States of America